Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Virunga Volcanoes

The Virunga Mountains are eight volcanoes in the border area between Rwanda , Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo . The volcanoes are located between the Eduardsee and the Lake Kivu and are part of the East African grave breach . The two volcanoes in the Democratic Republic of Congo are located, the Nyiragongo volcano (3462 m) and the Nyamuragira (3063 m). In an eruption of Mount Nyiragongo in the year 1977 2.000 people were killed. In 2002, lava flowed from the crater of this volcano and flooded the streets of the town 20 km from Goma . Most people could save themselves, there were 147 deaths, but the 250,000 inhabitants of the town of Goma were affected, some fleeing to neighboring countries Rwanda and Uganda. Even the Nyamuragira provided several times for resettlement of the population. Last flowed in 2002, simultaneously with the eruption of the Nyiragongo lava from Nyamuragira toward the Kiwusees and changed its shore structure.




No comments:

Post a Comment