Monday, January 23, 2012

Republic of Haiti - Caribbean Islands

The island of Hispaniola, the second largest island in the Caribbean, contains two separate countries; the Dominican Republic and Haiti. Columbus claimed Hispaniola in 1492, and it later became the major launching base for the Spanish conquest of the Caribbean, as well as the American mainland,known as a New Land. Haiti , officially the Republic of Haiti  is a Caribbean country. It occupies the western, smaller portion of the island of  Hispaniola, in the Greater Antillean archipelago, which it shares with the Dominican Republic.

No comments:

Post a Comment